Emmy-oh my!

emmysLike many people out there, I’ve always been a major fan of TV. It’s the most accessible form of entertainment at home. She was basically my babysitter for my entire childhood. Thanks mom…jk no really mom if you’re reading this thank you for every single thing you’ve ever done for me I love you and I just want to make you proud bye.

Though there are some completely incredible shows on air, I feel like it hasn’t been until the most recent year that TV has really stepped its game up. There is so much good TV out there right now. Like seriously. LIFE CHANGING. (not really but you know what I mean.)When film style production made its way on to the small screen in early 2000s, the quality trend became more and more obvious. TV wasn’t just about entertainment, these producers and writers were trying to create something which was going to leave a lasting impression.

Like all major forms of entertainment, there is a central society(or academy in this situation) where awards are given out to celebrate and honor the year’s best  achievements. The 2015 Primetime Emmy Awards are Monday August 25th and will be hosted by Late Night host and  former SNL cast member Seth Meyers.

SM emmys

My love for TV has motivated me to give my predictions for this year’s show. While I haven’t seen all of the shows I’m about to talk about, I have seen many of them. I’ve read up on the major predictions and from my research to my own experience, I’ve compiled my own list of predictions.

I’ll go by category and in each category I’ll narrow down the nominees to who “SHOULD WIN,” and “WILL WIN.” So let’s start this thang shall we?

Comedy

Outstanding Comedy Series:

“The Big Bang Theory”
“Louie”
“Modern Family”
“Orange is the New Black”
“Silicon Valley”
“Veep”

oitnb

SHOULD WIN: “Orange is the New Black”

It’s funny, OITNB is sometimes considered a drama, but the Emmys considered it a comedy. Don’t get me wrong I completely agree, but it’s interesting how it’s hard to classify this show. Anyway. OITNB was is a fantastic show. So smartly written, great character development, really funny, super dramatic. It’s just all around great. The Netflix original is really setting a new wave to the other TV networks where. If you haven’t checked it out before, I highly recommend it and I really hope it wins this year’s award.

WILL WIN: “Modern Family”

It’s funny. No questions about it. And it’s really cute and fun. But why is it going to win this year? I’ll just say this, MF has won Outstanding Comedy Series EVERY YEAR THAT IT HAS BEEN NOMINATED. Yeah.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series:

jp

Louis CK, “Louie”
Don Cheadle, “House of Lies”
Ricky Gervais, “Derek”
Matt LeBlanc, “Episodes” 
William H. Macy, “Shameless”
Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory”

This category is hard because I don’t watch most of these shows. I watch “Shameless” but that’s about it. Great show, but eh, not gonna win. So I’m going off what I’ve read up. #sorrynotsorry

SHOULD WIN: Louis CK

This dude is so funny. His stand up is great and I’m sure he’s great in “Louie!” I’ve just never seen it.

WILL WIN: Jim Parsons

Again, this dude has won so many times before. He’s likely going to win again. I really don’t care for TBBT but I guess people like it so whatever.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series:

ap

Lena Dunham, “Girls”
Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”
Melissa McCarthy, “Mike & Molly”
Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation”
Taylor Schilling, “Orange is the New Black”

While I love OITNB, I HATE, absolutely LOATHE Taylor Schilling’s character Piper Chapman. Ugh I just want her to die. But the friggin show is about her so whatever bye.

SHOULD WIN: Amy Poehler. Why she hasn’t won before is beyond me. Her portrayal of Leslie Knope is one of the best comedic performances I’ve ever encountered. She’s so spot on perfect for this role. She deserves some recognition in this category.

WILL WIN: Julia Louis-Dreyfus. I love Amy, but man, JLD is fucking hilarious as VPOTUS Selina Meyer. I mean it’s raunchy, it’s political satire, it’s great. Plus she’s won for this award before.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series:

th

Fred Armisen, “Portlandia”
Andre Braugher, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
Ty Burrell, “Modern Family”
Adam Driver, “Girls”
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, “Modern Family”
Tony Hale, “Veep”

SHOULD WIN: Tony Hale. Buster Bluth! This dude won this award last year and he definitely deserves it. He’s so funny in Veep.

WILL WIN: A lot of people think Andre Braugher will win, but I think it’ll likely be Ty Burrell from MF. Again, he’s won before and his character is by far the funniest one on MF. He’s so good.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series:

km

Mayim Bialik, “The Big Bang Theory”
Julie Bowen, “Modern Family”
Anna Chlumsky, “Veep”
Allison Janney, “Mom”
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”
Kate Mulgrew, “Orange is the New Black”

SHOULD WIN: Kate Mulgrew. She’s the feisty “Red” in OITNB. She’s turning out to be one of the most interesting characters of the whole show. I had no idea her Russian accent was fake. I thought she was legit Russian! #whaaat

WILL WIN: Mulgrew or Allison Janney. I haven’t seen “Mom” but I hear she’s pretty funny in it.

TV Movies and Miniseries

Outstanding TV Movie:

shnh

“Killing Kennedy”
“Muhammed Ali’s Greatest Fight”
“The Normal Heart”
“Sherlock: His Last Vow”
“The Trip to Bountiful”

SHOULD WIN: “Sherlock: His Last Vow.” OOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMGGGGGGGG This season 3 finale of Sherlock was FUCKING RIDICCCCCC. I love Sherlock, it’s an amazing BBC show which is broadcast in the US on PBS. #abbreviations But this episode in particular was so crazy. Definitely not gonna give anything away, just check it out. It’s on Netflix. GO NOW.

WILL WIN: “The Normal Heart.” Like I said, I am really rooting for Sherlock and I definitely think it has a chance, but TNH was all the rage on HBO. It has gotten rave reviews and it’s one of those movies that talks about a highly popularized issue, AIDS. Like the Oscars, make a movie about war, slavery, or AIDS and you’re more than likely going to win.

Outstanding Miniseries:

fargo

“American Horror Story: Coven”
“Bonnie & Clyde”
“Fargo”
“Luther”
“Treme”
“The White Queen”

SHOULD/WILL WIN: Ugh, I’m torn. I am a huge AHS fan and this was by far, BY FAR, the best season yet. This season was all about witches and man was it fun to watch. If you want to get hooked on a new show, watch “AHS: Coven” as soon as it’s available. However, with that being said, “Fargo” should and likely will win it. It was such a great series. I wrote an entire blog about it. http://goo.gl/CQLXKq Great acting, great story, extremely entertaining. “Fargo” is going to take it.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie:

bbt

Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock: His Last Vow”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “Dancing on the Edge”
Idris Elba, “Luther”
Martin Freeman, “Fargo”
Mark Ruffalo, “The Normal Heart”
Billy Bob Thornton, “Fargo”

This is going to be one of the toughest acting categories. So many great performances which all qualify for an Emmy.

SHOULD WIN: Again, I’m torn. I think Benedict Cumberbatch is one of the best versions of Sherlock Holmes I have ever seen. He is witty, quick, and so consumed by his role. BUT, Martin Freeman really does it for me in Fargo. He’s a great example of how characters develop and become completely new people in the end. It’s a new role for this actor and I think he played him flawlessly. Fun fact, Martin Freeman plays Cumberbatch’s partner in crime Dr. Watson in Sherlock, a role he is also nominated for! CONFUSED?! THAT’S OKAY!

WILL WIN: Billy Bob Thornton. He’s a psycho serial killer in “Fargo.” He is known for playing the creepy guy and this is no exception. He’s creepy and determined, two attributes which lead to a chaotic story. It was hard not to like him.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie:

jl

Helena Bonham Carter, “Burton and Taylor”
Minnie Driver, “Return to Zero”
Jessica Lange, “American Horror Story: Coven”
Sarah Paulson, “American Horror Story: Coven”
Cicely Tyson, “The Trip to Bountiful”
Kristen Wiig, “Spoils of Babylon”

This is going to be a battle of the supremes. No not the 1960s girl group, I’m talking about the HBIC of the witch world.

SHOULD/WILL WIN: Though Sarah Paulson really does the best acting she has ever done in the three season of AHS, Jessica Lange is the ultimate Supreme. She is a bad bitch in every season and this one was the best showcase of her talent.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie:

mb

Matt Bomer, “The Normal Heart”
Martin Freeman, “Sherlock: His Last Vow”
Colin Hanks, “Fargo”
Joe Mantello, “The Normal Heart”
Alfred Molina, “The Normal Heart”
Jim Parsons, “The Normal Heart”

SHOULD WIN: Martin Freeman. His characterization of Dr. John Watson has something that just draws you to love him. He really takes this character and becomes him. Martin Freeman is insanely talented and in the episode of “Sherlock” for which he is nominated, he best shows off his acting chops.

WILL WIN: Matt Bomer. He’s all the blogs can talk about. I haven’t seen TNH but I hear he’s pretty awesome. More than likely someone from TNH will win. I mean, of the six nominated actors, four are from TNH.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie:

ab

Angela Basset, “American Horror Story: Coven”
Kathy Bates, “American Horror Story: Coven”
Ellen Burstyn, “Flowers in the Attic”
Francis Conroy, “American Horror Story: Coven”
Julia Roberts, “The Normal Heart”
Allison Tolman, “Fargo”

Again, this one I am torn.

SHOULD WIN: Angela Basset or Allison Tolman. Angela Basset plays the bad bitch Marie Laveau, a voodoo witch with crazy powers. She commands the screen and is so fun to watch. But Allison Tolman is fucking awesome in “Fargo.” She gets more and more interesting as her scenes come on the screen. Definitely gonna be a good toss-up between these two. That is..if Julia Roberts doesn’t win.

WILL WIN: Julia Roberts. TNH, everyone loves it, apparently she’s great too. Haven’t seen it. Over it. Critics love her. She’s an Oscar winner. She played a hooker once. Bye.

Eh, most of these are speculation so I’m not going to write much content other than my predictions. Lazy of me? Yep.

Variety/Reality Programs:

Outstanding Variety Series:

“The Colbert Report”

“The Daily Show with Job Stewart”

“Jimmy Kimmel Live!”

“Real Time with Bill Maher”

“Saturday Night Live”

“The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon”

SHOULD WIN: “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon”

WILL WIN: “The Daily Show with Job Stewart”

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program:

“The Amazing Race”

“Dancing with the Stars”

“Project Runway”

“So You Think You Can Dance”

“Top Chef”

“The Voice”

SHOULD WIN: “Project Runway”

WILL WIN: “The Amazing Race”

Directing:

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series:

“Episodes” (Episode: “Episode Nine”), Directed by Iain B. MacDonald (Showtime)

“Glee” (Episode: “100”), Directed by Paris Barclay (Fox)

“Louie” (Episode: “Elevator, Part 6″), Directed by Louis C.K. (FX)

“Modern Family” (Episode: “Las Vegas”), Directed by Gail Mancuso (ABC)

“Orange Is the New Black”(Episode: “Lesbian Request Denied”), Directed by Jodie Foster (Netflix)

“Silicon Valley” (Episode: “Minimum Viable Product”), Directed by Mike Judge (HBO)

SHOULD WIN: Jodie Foster for OITNB

WILL WIN: Gil Mancuso for Modern Family

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series:

“Boardwalk Empire” (Episode: “Farewell Daddy Blues”), Directed by Tim Van Patten(HBO)

“Breaking Bad” (Episode: “Felina”), Directed by Vince Gilligan (AMC)

“Downton Abbey” (Episode: “Episode One”), Directed by David Evans (PBS)

“Game of Thrones” (Episode: “The Watchers on the Wall”), Directed by Neil Marshall (HBO)

“House of Cards” (Episode: “Chapter 14″), Directed by Carl Franklin (Netflix)

“True Detective” (Episode: “Who Goes There”), Directed by Cary Joji Fukunaga (HBO)

SHOULD/WILL WIN: Vince Gilligan for “Breaking Bad” no question here.

Writing:

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series:

SHOULD/WILL WIN: “I Wasn’t Ready” from OITNB written by Liz Friedman & Jenji Kohan

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series:

SHOULD WIN: “Ozymandias” from “Breaking Bad” written by Moira Walley-Beckett

WILL WIN: “Felina” from “Breaking Bad” written by Vince Gilligan

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series:

SHOULD/WILL WIN: “The Colbert Report”

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or a Dramatic Special:

SHOULD WIN: “Sherlock: His Last Vow” written by Steven Moffat

WILL WIN: “The Normal Heart” written by Larry Kramer

And finally we round this entire prediction list out with the hardest general category…

Drama:

Outstanding Drama Series:

bb

“Breaking Bad”
“Downton Abbey”
“Game of Thrones”
“House of Cards”
“Mad Men”
“True Detective”

Man, if I had to vote this year, it would be a four way split. These shows are fantastic and really it could go in any direction, but if I had to bet my money on just one, there’s only once choice I’d go with.

SHOULD/WILL WIN: “Breaking Bad.” The series was concluded last TV season and there’s no better way to send off quite possibly the best television show EVER than with an Emmy for being the best.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series:

mm

Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad”
Jeff Daniels, “The Newsroom”
Jon Hamm, “Mad Men”
Woody Harrelson, “True Detective”
Matthew McConaughey, “True Detective”
Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”

SHOULD WIN: Kevin Spacey. Frank Fucking Underwood. This dude is the smoothest, the most hardcore mother fucker on TV (well Netflix..). He is a bad ass and he deserves a million awards for his role on “House of Cards.”

*I’d gladly want Bryan Cranston to win, and he might! But his final season in “Breaking Bad” was a bit lack luster, especially the episode for which he is nominated.

WILL WIN: Matthew McConaughey. UGH. This is a good example of PR working its way to the minds of the academy members. I’m sure Matty was great in “True Detective.” Not saying he wasn’t, but all I’ve read is bloggers talking about how good he was in “Dallas Buyers Club” for which he was awarded this year’s Oscar for Best Actor. Now with his role on this show people talk about his versatility. So more than likely the rest of the nominees will be outshined by that Oscar gold and Matthew will take home the Emmy.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series:

md

Lizzy Caplan, “Masters of Sex”
Claire Danes, “Homeland”
Michelle Dockery, “Downton Abbey”
Julianna Marguiles, “The Good Wife”
Kerry Washington, “Scandal”
Robin Wright, “House of Cards”

SHOULD WIN: Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery Michelle Dockery. She is the bread and butter of “Downton Abbey.” She brings so much light on to the screen and man, she really reels you in. Michelle is a wonderful actress and I think it’s time she gets some recognition from the Emmys!

WILL WIN: Robin Wright. I have not seen the second season of HoC, but if she is anything like she is in the first season, this Emmy would be much well deserved. She won the Golden Globe last year so it really wouldn’t be a huge shock for her to win.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series:

jp

Jim Carter, “Downton Abbey”
Josh Charles, “The Good Wife”
Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”
Mandy Patinkin, “Homeland”
Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad”
Jon Voight – “Ray Donovan”

SHOULD/WILL WIN: Aaron Paul. He was won this award twice for playing this character. It still boggles me that Jesse Pinkman was originally supposed to be killed off, but Vince Gilligan was so impressed with his performance, he chose to keep him on. Best fucking decision ever. Jesse Pinkman is one of the best written and personified characters I have ever seen. It is a true blessing to be able to watch Aaron Paul on the screen in his masterpiece performance on “Breaking Bad.”  

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series:

ag

 

Christine Baranski, “The Good Wife”
Joanne Forgott, “Downton Abbey”
Anna Gunn, “Breaking Bad”
Lena Headley, “Game of Thrones”
Christina Hendricks, “Mad Men”
Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey”

SHOULD/WILL WIN: Anna Gunn. Lena Headley, so fucking cool in GoT. Weird and nasty as fuck, but she’s awesome. Maggie Smith is the coolest old lady ever. I wish she was my neighbor or something. We’d drink whiskey and laugh at all the basics all day long. But none of them could match up Anna Gunn this season in “Breaking Bad.” I hated Skylar White. Like, I was waiting for her slow and painful death. But as the seasons progressed, the more I liked her, and then I eventually loved her. She won the Emmy last year and I see one more trophy being added to her china cabinet.

WHEW! That was a long one. *that’s what she said. AHHHHH ;p*

Those were a lot of categories, but I committed and wrote my predictions for all of them! Watch the Emmys on Monday, August 25th and see how well my predictions were!

BYE.

 

WILT: Best Day Ever by Mac Miller

 

Leave a Reply

